Historic Preservation Commission

Photo of commissioners and residents at meeting

The Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) was established in 1978 by the City of Excelsior Springs. In 1991, Excelsior Springs became a Certified Local Government (CLG). The role of the HPC is to assist the City in the administration of the Historic Preservation Ordinance. The HPC consists of seven members, residents of Excelsior Springs or appointed to serve recommendation of the Historic Preservation Ordinance, all appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. The term of each member is three years.

Current Members:

Betty Bissell, Chairwoman
Dennis Hartman, Vice-Chairman
Susan Blaser
Darryl Couts
Rick DeFlon
Anna Sue Spohn
Jason Van Till
Melinda Mehaffy, Community Development Director
Shantele Frie, Planner
Laura Mize, Neighborhood Specialist
Doug Hermes, Consultant
Sonya Morgan, Council Liaison

Members of the public are encouraged to contact the Community Development Department to discuss questions or concerns about preservation, historic districts and local or National historic designation. The Community Development Department is able to provide information about the designation process, answer questions about the Certificate of Appropriateness application process and assist with technical resources for performing work on designated buildings.

Meeting Minutes:
October 11, 2023
November 8, 2023
December – no meeting
January 10, 2024
February – no meeting

Copies of previous meeting minutes are recorded in the CLG Annual Reports, located here.

For requirements of CLG’s, click here.